Members Carry Bicentennial Torch

John and Frank Transport Torch Through Madison

Walnut Street Fire Company No. 4 Engineer John Schoenstein, representing the firefighters of Madison and Jefferson County, carried the Indiana bicentennial torch on a portion of its journey through Madison. He rode with driver Frank Taff aboard a 100-year-old Ahrens Fox pumper that served Madison Fire Company No. 2 from 1916 to 1947. The torch will pass through all 92 Indiana counties.



Member Jack Bird Honored

Jack Bird Honored for 50 Years of Service

Walnut Street Fire Company No. 4 honored member Jack Bird for 50 years of service at the July 21 business meeting.

Jack has responded to 4,489 alarms during his tenure with the Fours in addition to the more than 500 to which he responded during his 12 years as Assistant City Fire Chief and at which the Fours were not due to respond.

Awards were presented on behalf of Mayor Welch by City Fire, Chief Bill DeVries, and City Operations Chief, Ken Washer. WSFC No. 4 Company President, Karl Eaglin, presented Jack with a plaque and an ornamental axe to be mounted on the wall with those of past 50-year members.

Deputy State Fire Marshall, Rob Johnson, and State EMS Manager, Jason Smith, presented Jack with a framed certificate from the Indiana Department of Homeland Security. Similar certificates were also presented to other recent 50-year members Don McKay, Bob Schoenstein and Dick Goebel.

A reception was held following the meeting.



2016 Golf Tournament Results

Annual Golf Scramble Results

Walnut Street Fire Company No. 4 sponsored its 24th annual golf scramble July 17, 2016. There was a good turnout despite temperatures in the 90’s.

The winning foursome was Karl Eaglin, Larry Burns, Lynn McGlothin and Don Heiderman with a score of 59. Two other teams also had the same score and the winners were determined by scores on hole number 9, the most difficult hole.

The winning women’s team (from Indianapolis) was Lee Ann McKay, Robin Coffman, Cindy Stiehl and Jill Phillips.

Donnie Polling was closest to the hole on number 10 which gave him and his teammates each a shot at a hole-in-one which would have awarded them a new car, but no one sank the shot.

Scott Tucker had the longest drive on number 7, and Karl Eaglin had the long ball on number 13.

The putting contest was won in a playoff by Larry Burns.

Congratulations to the winners, and thank you to all the players, volunteers and to the staff at Sunrise golf course.